10.

Science Friction is a film by Stan Vanderbeek from 1959.  This film was interesting to say the least.  throughout my exploration of the avant garde community i’ve found many differnt meanings out of the films we’ve viewed but this one was very strange to me.  Although the camera work was done well and i like that the viewer never can fell comfortable throughout the whole work.  

Permutations is a 1966 film by John Whitney.  This was a fun film to watch.  Like i’ve said before I do a lot of performing at differnt venue’s and often i have a projection behind me.  with that said this film would be a great visual to have at a show!  The different lights and colors were very enjoyable.  

Scan Processor Studies is a collection of works by Woody Vasulka and Brian O’Reily.  This was so dope!  I can’t lie and say i totally understand what i’ve seen but i know i like it.  it reminded me of the ‘Joy Division’ album cover(picture above) .  

Watch is a film by David Rokeby.  This film was interesting to me because of its nature.  It was cool to see the motions and stillness on a street corner and it made me think of things i usually don’t.  It really struck me when they commented on the homeless and why people honestly do not see the them while passing by.  The white on black was a nice touch and made it very unique.  

Cheap imitation is a 2 minute film by David Rokeby made in 2002.  The patterning in this film was fun to watch.  When i viewed it i saw it in a room with 3 of my friends 2 of which enjoy avant garde films.  i was surprised that my friend who doesn’t like these type of films actually sat through it.  I really liked the colors throughout it as well. 

Making Eyes is a film from 2010 by Douglas gordon.  This film was unsettling to me.  The entire film reminded me of the iconic eye scene in un chien andelou!  My grandma used to say the eyes are the window to the soul, and throughout the film i got overwhelmed.  I also need to stop watching these films in the middle of the night by myself…or should i? haha with that said it was a very original swing on a very used concept. 

Shout was a film from 1966 by Jeff Perkins.  i feel like the over all theme of this film was anger.  The arguing men could have really just symbolized the manner in which people treat each other.  i need to work on my own tone, sometimes i can be really short with people. 

One Fluxus is a film from 1965 by Yoko Ono.  Yoko Ono could literally do whatever she wants.  This film is just a match burning but because its miss Ono its worth while.  I don’t really like it because i feel like she just did it because she could not to necessarily make a statement or for any meaning.   

Thoughts?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment